29th July 2016 – Day 211 of 366

Male Sparrow

A lone male sparrow finds a spot to stay on the terrace when the rain was on a break today. I has been raining heavily in Mumbai and much of the city is already facing it’s wrath. But in today picture, what I would like to tell my viewer is the fact that the population of sparrows near my home at Anushaktinagar has suddenly found a boom. Earlier during the day, there were normally a few birds that you would see at the Western Sector region at Anushaktinagar. These were common birds like crows, pigeons, sparrows and mynas. But a few years back, I suddenly noticed that there were hardly any sparrows that I could spot. That’s when I read an article in a newspaper about how birds like sparrows get disoriented by the different wave signals like those emitted from mobile towers and I believed that this was perhaps the reason why the sparrow population in my area dissappeared. Fast forward to 2016. Just before the rains, I yet again noticed these amazing little birds back in the area, chirping around, drinking water from puddles and looking for worms on the ground. I was happy that these birds had returned to this area but the question that remains is for how long will they be and the answer is something that only time will tell

Leave a Reply

